Reaction to tutor feedback for Assignment 5

As always my tutor has been honest and constructive and there are no real surprises in the comments he made.  As I have already said, I did not find this assignment easy and I’ve learnt many valuable lessons, mainly to do with planning and thinking through the process in advance.  What worries and disappoints me a little is that one or two of the pictures that I thought were quite good in terms of observation at least, Pete didn’t think worked.  The mother and daughter from the back for example and the two chaps studying the form.  He also didn’t like the still life that I had taken for the cover as he felt it was too contrived.  I think the reason that I’m disappointed is that by now, I feel that I should have a better idea of what works and clearly in this case I didn’t.

A day at the races

In readiness for assessment, I have replaced some of the pictures that were criticized and have edited one or two others, so for example, I have replaced the cover picture with a colláge, the parade ring shot with one ‘less crowded’ and cropped a couple of the ‘racing’ shots so that I appeared to be closer to the action.

What I would really like to have done is pay another visit to a race meeting but sadly ran out of time.

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Learning Log. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

