Project: Narrative – A narrative picture essay

The text for this project talks about photographing an event such as the Lord Mayor’s show and the process one would go though to prepare and execute such a project.  I can see certainly that if you were to tackle a major event such as this, the sort of planning that would need to go into it and this has certainly helped with my end of unit assignment.  It also made me think about the sort of project I might be able to undertake, both now and in the future and the ideas I came up with ranged from something as simple as making a cake, to a day at Focus on Imaging to photographing a wedding.  ‘Focus’ went out of the window straight away because although I had booked a ticket, I didn’t feel I could plan in the way I needed to.  I needed something that I could do fairly quickly given that I had quite a lot to get through before my submission deadline and finally settled on ‘Making breakfast for 1’.

With hindsight I’m not sure this was a meaty enough topic and having read through all the text again, I’m not sure my pictures are ‘interesting, attractive and varied’ enough.  I had got tot the point thought that I was worried about getting stuck, like I did in the last part and felt I needed to get on with it.

The first picture shows the raw ingredients for breakfast for 1; an egg, bread, butter, fruit juice as well as the pan of water for poaching the egg, plate, glass and cutlery.

I’m trying here to use different sizes and shapes of pictures to get the story across and felt that pouring the juice would work as a small picture.

The next stage in the process was poaching the egg.  This is definitely a stage where photography skills have gone out the window but I felt that in this case, the subject was more important than making sure that the exposure was absolutely right.

The other thing that I have found particularly difficult using a programme such as WordPress, is to use different sizes and layouts of images to help with the narration.  That would definitely have been easier had I printed the pictures off and used a ‘hard copy’ learning log.

Finally breakfast is ready, although I’m not sure it is worth eating by the time I have taken several pictures using different exposures and compositions.  The end of the story however is the empty plate, below!

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Learning Log, Narrative and Illustration, Personal reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

