Cloudy weather and rain

Up until fairly recently I wouldn’t even have taken my camera out with me if it was raining.  Partly this was because I would be taking pictures of places I was visiting and the flat grey light does little for landscapes.  I certainly would not have considered taking pictures in the rain although as I have said before, over recent months I realised the added interest that raindrops often adds to, say flowers.

Rain on the logs

 

Although I don’t feel that I have done this exercise justice, mainly because I have rushed it and tried to take all of the pictures in one session, I do now appreciate the potential that dull weather and more particularly rain presents.  It brings out the detail and colour of what might be otherwise fairly bland topics.  I haven’t found it easy though, in particular I have found getting the exposure right really tricky and I know that it isn’t right in some of the pictures that I have uploaded in this post.  The dull conditions have made it necessary to use a higher ISO when using the camera ‘hand held’ if I wanted a reasonably small aperture and a fast enough shutter speed.  However when I’ve checked the histogram I’ve found the picture over-exposed and have used exposure compensation to correct this rather than increasing the shutter speed.   I know that I have to bracket some of these shots to get them right but maybe I use exposure compensation too readily rather than thinking about the appropriate shutter speed and aperture before I resort to exposure compensation.

Rain on the pond

 

The other issue I found with this exercise, particularly because I took the rainy pictures on water, was that the light reflecting on the water caused the  camera to over-expose the picture, even though the histogram suggested that the exposure was ok. This is obviously something that needs a lot more practice.

Bird table in sun

The exercise with sun and cloud was interesting.  What I found here was that although the light was flatter in the cloudy shot, I was able to see much more detail.   I think this was because, as I’ve said above, the wet bird table reflected the light and overexposed the image, thus losing the detail.

Bird table in cloud

I haven’t quite worked out the difference in stops to achieve the cloudy shot because whilst I used the same aperture, f/8, I increased the shutter speed from 1/80 sec to 1/125 sec for the second one and at the same time increased the ISO from 250 t0 3200.  I would have been much better with the camera on a tripod and using aperture priority, keep the same aperture and ISO and letting the camera to the rest.  Another lesson learnt!!

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Exercises, Learning Log, Light. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

