Twilight

All of the pictures included in this post were taken in either Florence or Sorrento in October of this year.  I purchased a small portable tripod before we went and made very good use of it.  Having re-read the section on twilight, I haven’t followed the guidance and when I have the opportunity again, I will look for different effects using for example wide angle and telephoto lenses to get deeper or muted colours.  In the main, I did shoot towards the light but only because that was where the interesting colours lay, rather than because I thought about it consciously.

1/160 sec at ISO 6400

The fist image was taken in Florence and the camera was hand and set to a high ISO, 6400 to get a shutter speed on 1/160.  There was still a small amount of light in the sky at about 5.30 in the evening.  The building is lit so this may not strictly be just ‘twilight’.

The second image, also in Florence was taken from the roof garden at our hotel.  I had gone up there to get some shots of the Duomo at night, which will appear in a later post, and was struck by the deep colour on the horizon.

I’m not particularly happy with the composition of this shot but it was the colours that attracted me. Next lesson – think about both at the same time!!

Florence at night

From Florence we went on to Sorrento and the next two pictures were taken from our balcony which overlooked the bay towards Vesuvius in one direction and Ischia in the other.  I spent a long time on the balcony with my camera on a tripod, either in the early morning (5.30 – 6am) or in the evening after the sun had set.

Storm brewing

I used very small apertures and a neutral density filter in order to get long exposures to try to get a milky sea, but with very limited success.  I did manage to capture the colours though and some clouds that looked as though they were boiling.

Ischia at twilight

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Learning Log, Light. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

