Variety with a low sun

Frontal lighting

I have developed a habit of walking round my garden in the early morning, particularly if the sun is shining or if it has been raining and I have learned to look for interesting lines, colour and to an extent, lighting although I have not really experimented with edge or side lighting before.  All of these pictures were taken between 8.30 and 8.45 at the end of November.  My camera was mounted on a tripod with a 105mm macro lens, for I was able to get in close enough without casting my shadow over the subject; the leaves of a magnolia tree.   The back light images were a bit of a disappointment, my own fault, I took one picture without any exposure compensation, checked the histogram and took another which was underexposed by

Back lighting - no exposure compensation

0.67 and I really needed to take another with positive exposure compensation as well.

Edge lighting

It was the side lit and edge lit pictures I was most pleased with although the edge lit picture was definitely the trickiest to achieve, I took several but only one is clearly lit at the edges.  This is an area I need to practice more.  I think the warm autumn colour of the leaves worked well with the effect of the lighting, also the detail I was able to pick up with the macro lens and this was really evident in the side lit pictures.

Side lighting - exposure compensation -0.33

I bracketed the exposure for those and found that the best outcome was when I compensated by minus 0.33.

This is a part of the course that I have really enjoyed and one I will continue to explore.  The materials suggest that you could also use this opportunity to shoot sunrise or sunset and although I didn’t do so when I took these pictures, I have taken an early walk down the lane rather than just round the garden and some of the shots taken then will be the subject of my next post.

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Exercises, Learning Log, Light. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

