Light through the day

This has so far been the least successful exercise I have done, I think for a number of reasons.

09.40

I have waited a couple of weeks for a sunny day so that I could crack on with the ‘Light through the day’ exercise.  This morning started ok but the sun came and went.  My first shots were taken just after 8am with the sun behind me which was fine until I realised that I had not changed the white balance setting from cloudy to sunshine.  No problem, re-shoot with the correct setting, although by this time it was 09.40 and I was on shot no 2.   There was such a significant difference in the shots produced using the two settings that I decided take one photograph at each setting throughout the day.

11.41

The results were interesting; those taken early showed the most difference with those take at midday showing the least.  All of the photographs shown here were taken with white balance set to sunshine.

13.53

The second problem I think was the scene I chose.  I look at this scene every day  from my lounge window and know that the light often gives a lovely effect early in the morning and at the end of the day.  What I didn’t see today though was the change in the way the shadows fall and I wondered if this was partly to do with the fact that the sun came and went, but also that the sun was in a different position in the sky.  Not only was it lower but the fact that is rises later and sets earlier means that it seems to rise and set in different places than in the summer.  By the time I took the last few shots, at about 4 o’clock, the sun had disappeared all together so I was back to pretty flat lighting with hardly any shadow at all.

15.30

The text advises you to do a rece and this is so obviously needed, not only so that you can decide on the composition but actually to check that the scene is suitable for the exercise and that it is actually in sun throughout the day; my scene was not.   The text does talk about unpredictability and maybe that is what I was experiencing.  I think in truth though, I hadn’t really thought this exercise through properly and simply chose a scene which was easily accessible, albeit one that I thought I knew.

16.15

This is an exercise to be repeated on another sunny day when I have time to think it through and do it properly.  I really need two sunny days, one when I can observe how the light changes through the day and the impact that has on the scene and another when I can go out and record this.

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Exercises, Learning Log, Light. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

