The intensity of light

I am now using some of the settings on my camera as a matter of course, aperture or shutter priority for example, manual white balance settings and exposure compensation (my camera tends to over-expose, particularly when fitted with a telephoto lens).  However exposure metering is still one area that I’m not 100% confident with and tend to leave the camera set to ‘matrix metering’.  Hopefully this section will help me explore this area a little further although I am finding some of the text a little inconsistent and confusing.  For example, the author explains the three most common exposure settings but then goes on to refer to ‘TTL’  I know that TTL means through the lens but which setting is he talking about, they are all TTL!  Having discussed some dark, light and averagely exposed photographs he then suggests that we look at some others in books or magazines and record our findings but I don’t know what I’m supposed to be looking for.  Yes they are dark or light or average and all seem to be well exposed but wouldn’t I expect this to be the case in a magazine??  Maybe I’m just taking for granted what I already understand and not unpicking it enough.

I can see that an average meter reading might under or over expose some of the high contrast scenes discussed in this section but in the main the author is suggesting that predictive metering should be able to handle them so maybe I’m ok leaving mine set to matrix metering.

Into the churchyard - taken using Active D Lighting set to high

I wonder if this is also where the ‘Active D Lighting’ setting on the camera comes in too, I still don’t really understand this other than that I have used it when looking through a doorway for example, to get the doorway and the scene outside properly exposed.

I’ve been looking recently at photographs taken against the light, so that the subject is almost, but not entirely in silhouette and with a rim of light around the top.  I haven’t practiced this yet as I think it’s a question of finding the right subject in the right lighting conditions but it is on my list. One thing that I am doing as a matter of course now is to use the histogram on my camera’s LCD screen to check the exposure, although again, you need to know what that should look like with a prediminanlty light or dark image.

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Learning Log. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

