Thoughts on colour

Reading the theory of colour resource referred to in the part 3 materials I  realised that I knew more about this than I originally thought although I hadn’t related it to photography until now.  As a flower arranger for example, I know that you  have to be careful using blue flowers as they recede into the background and from a distance you can’t distinguish them from the foliage.  I generally know if colours work well together but was not aware of the different scales of brightness or the proportions to put together in order to get good balance.

Working on this unit has raised my awareness of the combinations of colour used by different organisations and made me wonder whether they were chosen consciously, what they hoped to achieve and whether or not they were successful and I have come to the conclusion that some are more successful than others.   More about this later…

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Colour, Learning Log, Personal reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

