Controlling strength of colour revisited

Thanks to some really useful comments from Eileen I now understand why I was so disappointed with the first attempts at this exercise.  I had assumed, wrongly, without checking the manual, that every change in aperture setting equated to 1/2  a stop on my camera whereas it equates to 1/3rd stop.  What I should have done was check the manual and also the table so that I knew by how much the settings were being changed between shots.  I’ve had another go at this, this time taking the first shot on aperture priority at f/8, then changing to manual and taking further photos at f/11, f/16, f/5.6 and oops, this lens only goes to f/4.5…another lesson learnt there, should have started at f/11 or used a different lens.  The reason I chose this one is that there is a macro setting on it so it allows me to go in closer. I can see much more clearly the difference between each of the pictures this time, not just in terms of the effect of under and over exposure, but also the fact that the over exposed images are brighter and  there is more saturation of the colours in the under exposed ones.  Eileen has also pointed my in the direction of some materials  related to exposure and colour which I haven’t accessed yet but I will.

f/4.5, f/5.6, f/8, f/11, f/16, all taken at 1/60 sec

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Colour, Exercises, Learning Log. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

