Part 3 – Colour

When I first read through this unit I thought that there wasn’t much to it. Having done a little bit of water-colour painting I have come across the colour wheel before and knew about primary and secondary colours, or so I thought.  I still can’t get my head round the fact that yellow is not a primary colour in the ‘RGB’ scale, nor the fact that green is a primary colour; everybody knows that to get green you mix blue and yellow together!  I now know that RGB stands for red, green and blue and have a better understanding of how the different components can be adjusted, say in Photoshop.  Until now I have never really understood why I got the results I did by moving the ‘hue’ slider for example.

I felt that I had a good eye for colour as far as what colours work well together but had no idea about how bright they are compared to each other or what proportions work best in relation to their brightness.  One of the things that struck me about Heather Angel’s work is her use if colour, I  couldn’t put my finger on it before but have gone back and looked at some of the photographs in the ‘macro’ section of her on-line gallery and two in particular stood out; ‘Abstract fish’ http://www.heatherangel.co.uk/galleries.aspx?galId=9&disId=417  [accessed July 2011], which is made up of colours at the opposite side of the colour wheel, green and blues and reds and oranges and ‘Hyacinth macaw eye’ http://www.heatherangel.co.uk/galleries.aspx?galId=9&disId=430 [accessed July 2011],which consists of only blue and yellow but in the proportion of roughly 3:1.  I think this is my favourite of all her images.

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Colour, Learning Log, Personal reflections, Photographers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

