Control the strength of a colour

I feel that I’ve missed something with this exercise and have taken 2 lots of pictures to try to get it right.   The first set of pictures was of a row of red railings and I didn’t get the variation in colour I was expecting.  I started by taking a photo with my camera set to aperture priority then changed the setting to manual and keeping the same shutter speed, I changed the aperture for each picture as per the instructions.  I subsequently discovered that although it was a bright sunny day, the ISO was set to 200, not that should have mattered as the camera would have selected the appropriate shutter speed to give the correct exposure with my chosen aperture.  I felt that all of the pictures looked over exposed on the screen although I am currently working on my laptop and never see the same as I do when I use the monitor on my main computer at home.

From left to right the photos are exposed at 1/160 secs and f/13, f/14, f/16, f18 and f/20

For the second set of pictures I chose some blue flowers, chose a shallower depth of field that I did for the railings and again with the camera set to aperture priority took my first picture.  With the setting changed to manual and the same shutter speed, in this case 1/80 sec. took 4 more pictures 1/2 a stop apart, 2 above and 2 below the original picture.  We are asked to note differences in addition to under to over exposure of the images.  The only obvious differences that I can see are that whilst the hue and brightness seem the same, the more exposure the photograph has the more saturated the colour and of course the smaller the aperture,the greater the depth of field.   From left to right photographs are exposed at f /6.3, f/7.1, f/8, f/9, f/10

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Colour, Exercises, Learning Log. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Control the strength of a colour

  1. Eileen says:

    Hi Anne, not sure I’ve understood right, but looking at your pictures I think there isn’t sifficient difference between the settings. Across each set of pictures you seem to have about 1.5 stops differences in total (it’s hard for me to be sure because the non-standard apertures are confusing me a bit). Each of the following are full aperture stops: f/5.6, 8, 11, 16, and 22. In the top picture you start at f/13, which is about half a stop above f/11, and end at f/20, which is about 1.5 stops above it – so a total difference of not much more than one stop of exposure. In the 2nd picture you start about half or 1/3 of a stop above f/5.6 and end about one and a half or one and two thirds above it. Perhaps your camera is set to increase or reduce exposure in 1/3 stop increments?

    • Anne Bryson says:

      You are absolutely right Eileen, I hadn’t spotted that and assumed that the difference between the settings on my camera was 1/2 stop when in fact it was 1/3rd. Funnily enough I was going to use exposure bracketing when I took the photographs but disgarded that for that very reason. It has taken me until now to respond to a post on any of the forums but will do so more often, this has been really helpful, thank you.

  2. Eileen says:

    Really glad you found it helpful Anne. Please do join in on the forums. It really is a great way to learn and you make friends too.

    I discovered bracketing while doing TAOP and use it a great deal now. It’s useful in lots of ways. If I was redoing that experiment again I would probably go up in whole stops – even half a stop doesn’t make that much difference.

    Reading your blog again, and the point about all the first pictures looking overexposed reminds me of another point I mean to mention. By coincidence in choosing red you picked teh colour that is most problematic for the digital sensor. This really started to bug me when I was doing TAOP and I looekd into it. The links below take you what I wrote at the time. I should say that it is rather more than most people would ever want to know on the subject but here are the links in case you are interested. I’d be interested to know what camera you used as different makes seem to treat reds differently (I’m not obsessed, really… ; -))
    http://eileenrafferty.blogspot.com/2009/02/experiment-in-red.html
    http://eileenrafferty.blogspot.com/2009/03/any-colour-as-long-as-its-red.html

    The blue/violet shade in the 2nd set of pictures is quite problematic too but not as bad as red.

Leave a Reply

