Rhythms and patterns

A clear distinction is made in the materials between rhythms and patterns and I understand what is meant by the rhythmic repetition and how that can be likened to music.  What I’m struggling with though is when this stops being a rhythm and becomes a pattern, isn’t there some rhythm to many patterns too?  The rows of icons on page 80 of the materials seem to be categorised as patterns as opposed to rhythms even though there is ordered repetition and the picture of bicycle seats on the following page is described as a pattern although I would argue that the framing is not as tight as we are told it needs to be.  This picture for me is a little like Giles Angel’s paperclips though not so structured and I’m left asking what the point of it is.

Railings

So are my images rhythms of patterns? Looking back over my catalogue I find that I am attracted to what I would have described as patterns but according to what I’ve read, are probably rhythms.    The photograph below taken at the Grand Bazaar in Istanbul fulfils the criteria for patterns  I think.

Cat in the Grand Bazaar

The slippers, bags and hats fill the frame and go outside of it and the cat breaks up the repetition although had I known then what I know now, I would have composed the picture so that the cat was more off centre.

The photographs I have taken for this exercise are probably rhythms too with the possible exception of the lavender. One thing is for sure, I’m going to have to think hard about this before submitting my assignment.

Bicycles on the railway platform

I spotted these bicycles from the window of a train.  They were all lined up and I saw a pattern created by the wheels, handlebars and seats.  If I compare this to the picture of wildebeest in the materials though they probably represent a rhythm rather than a pattern.

Torquay Pier

There is definitely a sense of repetition and rhythm created by the  seats on Torquay Pier on the other hand.  I really liked this picture because I was able to see so many of the elements we have been studying here; diagonal lines of the floor boards, verticals created by the lamp-post and points created by the globes of the lamps.  It was a very dull day when I took it though and having made several attempts to enhance the colour, I felt it worked better in black and white.

French Lavender

Having read though this again I attempted to find something that worked as patterns and came up with this picture of lavender.  I’m not sure it quite works though, maybe there needs to be more of it or maybe its the composition isn’t quite right and it needs a tighter crop.   At the moment it is my intention to focus on flowers and gardens for assignment 2 so I plan to spend some time looking at photos in my gardening magazines for some ideas before I embark on this.

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Elements of Design, Exercises, Learning Log. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

