More points

I had varying levels of success with exercises about the relationship between points and multiple points.  Two of the photographs I took to show the relationship between points involved animals, in one case two calves and in the other,  a cow and her calf.  The two calves did not really work because I think they were too similar, both placed too close to the edge of the frame, in fact only partly in the frame which left too much boring space in the middle.

Cow and calf

The cow and calf worked better because for one thing, they were looking towards each other which implied a relationship, there was also a difference in size and one was placed higher than the other in the frame.  I would have been better to have tried a different shooting position though, maybe closer and higher so that I could have eliminated the street in the background which is rather distracting.

Clematis seed heads

The third picture was of two clematis seed heads which were left after the petals had fallen.  I can’t see that one point is stronger than the other here but I do think they compliment each other and that the composition works.   I feel that this image has the potential to make a good picture but I’d need to get rid of the cluttered background and retake it.

I don’t feel that my attempts at photographing multiple points was at all successful.  I keep thinking back to Peter’s comments from my last assignment along the lines that if you don’t get the lighting right they will look amateurish and they certainly do.  One of my problems is that I  can’t really see the point here, my imagination doesn’t seem to work for this and I couldn’t think of ‘objects’ to photograph.

Daisy daisies

In the end I went  for daisies and then my instinct was to do the opposite of what we were asked to do, which was to create a daisy out of daisies!  Having re-read the exercise I then tried to create a more random design but wasn’t happy with the outcome.  More practice needed here before submitting my assignment!!

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Elements of Design, Exercises, Learning Log. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

