I’ve got kind of stuck!

It is now two weeks since I had feedback from Peter on my first assignment and although I was really pleased at the constructive comments and suggestions for improvement, to some extent it has stopped me moving forward. As usual I want things to be perfect and Peter made some key points which has made me question my ability.

The first one was that I’m obviously not doing enough reading, I hadn’t understood from the printed materials that this was expected, although having been involved in assessing accredited courses myself, I was starting to wonder where the academic slant came in if this course is ultimately going to contribute to a degree.  The problem I have is where do I start and  how much is required? presumably it is more meaningful if what I read and the photographers work I study, is linked to the type of pictures I am taking for that section of the course. Peter has suggested one or two photographers to start with but I’m not quite sure how they will help part two of the course until I look at them though.

The second point that I have picked up on which is creating a sticking point for now was to do with still life and lighting, in which he says, ‘without the correct equipment and set up the shots look amateurish and do not hold the viewer’s attention’ agreed but I don’t feel that I can invest in expensive equipment at this stage until I know what direction, if any, my photography will take. Peter does go on to say that it isn’t difficult and can be achieved with a simple backdrop and two flashheads.  Currently I just have a Nikon SB600 speedlight so will need to explore this further.

I think the reason that this is stopping me from progressing is that I’ve come upon an exercise fairly early in part two where I need to arrange six to ten objects into a still life design and I just know that it is not going to work.

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Learning Log, Personal reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

