Thought for the day, April 13th

Talked to my tutor last night and he said that the majority of students’ learning logs looked the same because all they did was reflect on the activities in the course; the better ones include reviews on the work of other photographers.  This is something I have intended to do but not got round to yet as I was focusing on getting my log set up and getting up to date with the exercises in the materials.  All I’ve done on this so far is note down the titles of books I’ve come across or exhibitions I’d like to visit but was starting to panic at the cost of all these books that would be read once then sit on the shelves.

How blind could I be though! I buy a photography magazine every month which is full of articles on the work of professional photographers, always with links to their websites should you want to study their work further.  It’s not all my cup of tea granted but there are certainly some that are.  Just flicking through one of my old copies this morning (I never throw anything away), there are also loads of ideas for different themes and subjects and this is something I was struggling with yesterday when I was thinking about the possible topics for some of my ‘Contrasts’ assignment.   How I’m going to organise this I’m not quite sure yet although my current mag, Digital Camera, has an accompanying website, PhotoRadar where I can ‘google’ most topics.

First thing is to look through some of my old copies and pick out anything that jumps out at me which I had intended to explore further but hadn’t.   The first one that caught my eye was an article on PhotoTherapy in issue 103 of Digital Photographer.  This isn’t something I would normally have read had it not talked about the work of Jo Spence who documented her battle with breast cancer through photography.  Very appropriate for me at present although I don’t think could quite go as far as she did.  So this will be the topic of my first review, watch this space!

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Learning Log, Personal reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

