Finally made it

I have finally finished the exercises in unit 1 and can now move on to the assignment.  The last activity was another slightly tough one because again it pushed me out of my comfort zone and made me think about alternative formats but this time for existing photographs.  I have used the cropping tool in Elements before but usually to tidy up  the composition or get rid of distractions around the margins.   What I have done in this exercise is change the picture completely and I think in each case for the better.

Surfer before crop

The first picture I chose was of a surfer, quite a small figure, bang in the middle of the scene.  I originally took this photo as I liked the reflection in the wet sand.  I was disappointed with the final image though.

Having thought about the balance of the picture and the rule of thirds, I’ve still tried to keep the reflection but get rid of some of the empty

Surfer after crop

sand and the sky and place the surfer walking into the picture.  Although I feel this gives a more balanced picture, I’m not sure it is quite right yet.  Should I have lost some of the reflection and placed the surfer further down in the image or maybe gone for a portrait format?  Not sure, another one to play around with.

The second picture I chose was a snow scene taken on Christmas day.  Having tried the long narrow format for the earlier exercise, I decided to apply the same treatment here.  The result is much more pleasing having got rid of a lot of boring sky and snow!

Snow at Christmas cropped

Rose

My final picture was a rose from my ‘Mothers’ Day’ flowers which I had taken in close  up.  It didn’t really fit with the standard photo format so I decided to try a square crop for this one.  It also allowed me to lose some damaged petals on the edge of the flower.  I felt this resulted in a much more pleasing image and will certainly use this technique again in the future.

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Exercises, Learning Log, The Frame. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

