Yet more activities from Unit 1…

In the section on focal lengths, the first exercise was straight forward; shoot several pictures from the same position using different focal lengths, so surprises there.  The other was more interesting though.  I again took two sets on pictures for this exercise because I wanted to check if different effects; one of some detail on the side of the church porch and the other of a gravestone.

Gravestone 1 taken at 85mm

I needed to position myself as far away from the subject as possible using the longest focal length necessary to get the image I wanted.  I then had to walk, or in the case of the gravestone, crawl, in a straight line until I had the subject in the frame at about the same size with the shortest focal length I could manage.  What I found was that rather than have roughly the same image, the perspective completely changed with the second shot and even though I thought I was taking the first picture at eye level, I was looking up at the subject by the time I got close to it.

Gravestone 2 taken at 18mm

The other thing I noticed with the gravestone shots which I couldn’t see on the detail on the church, was gravestones and trees behind my subject appeared much smaller in the second shot. The background seemed to be much further away and I could see sky, which wasn’t visible in the first shot.

So far this has been one of the most interesting exercises because it really does stress that you need to think about what you are trying to achieve when you take a photograph.

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Exercises, Learning Log, The Frame. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

