Still not at the end of Unit 1!

The section on Dividing the Frame looked at how well balances some of my existing photographs were and gave some diagrams that could be used as a guide and examples of how balance could be achieved in different ways.  Although I felt that most of the pictures I chose were reasonably well-balanced, I found it quite tough to match some of my images to any of the diagrams, this windmill is an example of that.

Windmill silhouetted in the sunset

Whilst I felt that the tall silhouetted windmill on the right was balanced by the bright sun on the left and the foreground sloping in from bottom left to top right, I found it difficult to sketch why the balanced worked, or maybe it doesn’t. Is this maybe one example of where you though the rule book away?

The other exercise made me think about where the horizon should be placed and for this I took some pictures at Soudley Ponds. The first thing that struck me was that I need to read the exercises

Reflections at Soudley Ponds

properly and do exactly what it asks because I didn’t in this case.  I used the top of the pond as the horizon, but actually it isn’t straight.

Most of the straightforward pictures with the horizon in the top, middle or bottom of the frame, worked ok, because there was quite a nice sky that day and good reflections of the trees in the water.  I then noticed how the trees reflected in the water along the side of the pond, and although not the horizon as such, took some more pictures of this area.  Some editing in Elements and this is the result.

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Exercises, Learning Log, The Frame. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

