Almost at the end of Unit 1

I’m now up to date with my posts, so from now on I will try to record my thoughts as I go along.  Todays task is to finish the section on the shapes and sizes of frames and also the small section on cropping so that I can get started on assignment 1 at the weekend.

How have I found it so far?  Taking the photographs has been fine, mostly, although I haven’t taken any pictures involving people despite some of the exercises saying that  I really needed to.  Unless it is at a very public event, I feel uncomfortable, like it’s an intrusion.  This may be something I need to get over, particularly if I want to go on with other courses when I’ve finished this one.

The biggest obstacle so far has been getting my head round the learning log.  I’m still not entirely sure what is required but to keep an on-line blog and a hard copy seems to me to be  a lot of duplication and I need to find an efficient way of doing this.  I also feel that as it stands, the OCA student site is a waste of space.  It seems to me to be to be incomplete with inadequate signposting and not enough real guidance on how to use it.  I think it is trying to be all things to all men but I’m not sure it hits the mark with any.  The fact that there doesn’t seem to be course specific areas, for me, makes it far less useful than it might otherwise be.   For now I think I’ll stick to this and the Flickr T189 group!

About Anne Bryson

I live in Gloucestershire with my husband Iain and West Highland Terrier, Isla. I enjoy golf, photography and my grandchildren, not necessarily in that order! Having completed a 10 week digital photography course with the Open University in 2010, I decided I wanted to take my photography further and enrolled for the Open College of the Arts BA (Hons) starting with 'The Art of Photography' which I enjoyed so much that I went gone on to do Digital Photographic Practice and People and Place. In April 2016 I enrolled on my fourth OCA photography course, Documentary. This blog is my Learning Log for this course.
This entry was posted in Learning Log, Personal reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

